HobbyFarms.com
LivestockCrops & GardeningTools & equipmentFood & Kitchenhome & barnmarketing & mgmtcrafts & nature
Hobby Farms Forums
Rules-Read First    Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

Home » HobbyFarms.com Forum Topics » Hobby Farms Discussions » How could I get into farming

12»»

How could I get into farming Expand / Collapse
Author
Starting Member

Starting MemberStarting MemberStarting MemberStarting MemberStarting MemberStarting MemberStarting MemberStarting Member

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 12/23/2013 7:31:56 PM
I’m really interested in having a ranch or farm and making profit from it. However, I’m a graduate student in Finance and I don’t have any experience in farming. I just don’t want to live in the big cities and I wish one day I can have my own land. My current plan is wait couple years and purchase a land to star my dream career.
I just don’t know what kind of farm/ranch is the best choice for people with few experiences to get into farming. Growing fruit? Hay? Crops? Or operating an entertainment ranch……. Could you give me some advice?
Also, location is another question I have so far. I notice the price range is huge in different states of US. I just wonder if anyone could tell me which factor I should consider when I purchase land. Such as water, climate, transportation, local price (beef, milk….).
Thank you so much!
Post #30849
Posted 10/23/2013 4:57:05 PM

New MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew Member

Last Login: Yesterday @ 8:56:07 AM
First, figure out how where you're most comfortable in terms of climate. Unless you intend to live in the Sahara or Antarctica, there's crops you can grow.

Next figure out how urban or rural you'd like to be. Your options aren't just 'city' or 'not city'.