HobbyFarms.com
LivestockCrops & GardeningTools & equipmentFood & Kitchenhome & barnmarketing & mgmtcrafts & nature
Hobby Farms Forums
Rules-Read First    Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On
Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

Home » HobbyFarms.com Forum Topics » Livestock » Chickens and Poultry » Ordering Chicks

12»»

Ordering Chicks Expand / Collapse
Author

New MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew Member

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 8/28/2013 8:37:20 PM
Hi, I am looking to order some chicks and want to make sure the breeds I want are compatible.  I was looking at Ameraucanas and Wyandottes.  I picked these breeds for the pretty/fun factor and the Wyandottes can handle the cold (I live in southern Manitoba).  I'm looking for chickens that are decent layers but I don't need a ton of eggs.  I have dabbled in chickens before so I have some experience caring for them but still have lots to learn.

The chicks won't come in until June.  Will they grow at the same rate and get along?  When can I expect them to start laying?  Will the hens want to sit on the eggs?  And any other tips/tricks you have will be appreciated!!

Oh, and these are unsexed chicks, how can I sex them?

I'm so excited to have chickens again!  I can't wait til June

Post #30225
Posted 2/21/2013 3:40:40 AM

Junior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior Member

Last Login: 8/23/2013 10:12:01 AM
We have both breeds and they get along just fine. In fact we arre adding at least 2 more Americaunas in a few weeks. Might get a bantam Wyndotte if the have the pretty new colors.

sandy

Post #30229
Posted 2/21/2013 6:36:05 AM
Advanced Member

Advanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced MemberAdvanced Member

Last Login: 4/15/2014 2:35:47 PM
Americaunas will lay the colored eggs for ya but we have found out that they are sometime layers in our flock.